You may have noticed that I totally skipped last week’s photo of the week, doh!  I didn’t even realize until right now, double doh!  Oh well, I plan on making that up to you by including a “you didn’t know” along with this weeks photo!  So!  Here is this weeks photo!  We went roller skating last Saturday, I liked the way the carpet looked so I made us all lay on the floor for this photo.  I’m pretty sure if the lights had been on we would have opted not to do that!

Now for the “you didn’t know” part of this evenings fun!   The year was 1993, it was the summer between my 8th and 9th grade years and once again we were packing up everything and moving.  The destination this time?  Guatemala City, Guatemala.  I remember one of the kids in my class kept calling it Guam, not sure why.  And once someone asked me in what part of Africa Guatemala was.  It was times like those that I was happy I didn’t have a chance for the U.S. school system to fail me, at least when it came to geography.  For those of you who might be curious, Guatemala is right below Mexico.  The scene at the end of  Star Wars: A New Hope where you see Mayan temple rising out of the forest, that’s Guatemala.  As we flew in that is really all I remember seeing, green, forest everywhere, no Mayan temples, they were in the north, we were flying into the south.  And it was the first time in all my flying that I got to walk down the stairs from the airplane to the landing strip and into the airport.  I thought it was so cool!  Anyway, after getting settled into our new home, which eventually had to be fitted with barbwire, we discovered that down the road there was a big pink building and inside that pink building?  A skating rink!  We skated so much that by the time Christmas rolled around I was begging  for my own pair of skates, and Santa did not disappoint me!  I got a beautiful pair of white skates with bright pink wheels, I loved them and put them to good use the whole time we lived there, plus the skating rink had really good churros.  The whole time we lived in St. George I felt like something was missing in my life, often I wished there was a skating rink nearby, I knew my life would be complete if I could only skate!  Imagine my pure joy when I realized that we now live within 15 minutes of a skating rink!!  I was so excited to take the boys, so off we went!  It was all that I thought it would be and more!!  Now after Guatemala I still skated when I could but in probably the last 12 years I haven’t step foot in a rink so I was kinda shaky at first but then I got the hang of it again and I fell in love all over again, it was so fun!!  We had to go back and 3 nights later we did just that, this time though, there were two girls there and they looked like they were practicing for roller derby!!  EEEKKKK!!  I want to be them when I grow up!!  They were so tough and fast and one had a cool mohawk, they were awesome!!  So there you have it, something you never knew about me, deep down inside, all I’ve ever wanted to be was a roller derby star!

For some reason the first thing the boys did when they got their skates on was jump up and down.  These are photos of them doing just that.


